Causes of Death in the United States in 2012

I can only reblog today because of my weary heart. I have been reading beautiful cards and sending acknowledgements t after my GirlMic/Leslie’s death 22 days ago.

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Causes of death in the United States in 2012:

http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/databriefs/db168.htm#which_population

This is 2,543,279 deaths in 2012.

The top ten are: heart disease, cancer, chronic lower respiratory diseases, stroke, unintentional injuries, Alzheimer’s disease, diabetes, influenza and pneumonia, kidney disease, and suicide.

Let’s take them one by one.

Heart disease: This is number one. 599,711 deaths. 23.6% of total deaths all ages both sexes in the US in 2012. So that is where I start when I do the counseling part of a physical.

Let’s review heart disease risk factors:
hypertension
high cholesterol
family history
diabetes
kidney failure
lack of exercise
tobacco
alcohol
smoking other things…
illegal drugs
stress
obeisity
As you might guess, this part of the discussion can use up a lot of the visit….

Cancer: All the cancer deaths together are 22.9% of the 2012 total.
We can screen for a few cancers: lung cancer is now the number…

View original post 1,067 more words

Published by

Wysjoyfulcompany

WysJoyFul Company Ministering Speaker, Host Wy's Ways of Wellness Radio blogtalk with focus on Wellness Awareness and EOL/ QOL with grief situations and Cancer Care Communications for National Patient Advocacy, Tennessee Cancer Coalition and Memphis Breast Cancer Coalition. Retired RN after 50 years now a Caregiver for family member.

One thought on “Causes of Death in the United States in 2012”

  1. Thank you for the reblog. I actually didn’t realize I’d posted it yet, was working on the draft, so now have done some clean up. I just had an old friend die, well, two and then someone on a writing site…. so I was thinking about causes of death.

Comments are closed.