Healthy Habit #5: Two lessons about plate geometry

I am not able to write right now as I pray in ER so I reblog for #WysWaysofWellness

Lorie Schaefer

Lesson I: Diameter
blog Plate size by yearsWe can easily see that the size of our dinner plates (and coincidentally, our pants) have increased substantially over the past 50 years. We also know that we prefer the look of a full plate and that–thanks to many of our mothers–we are charter members of “the clean plate club.” We feel obligated to eat what is put before us, even if we are no longer truly hungry.
So here’s a baby step for you. Try eating from a smaller plate, like the nice luncheon or salad plates you have in the cupboard. Or eat your cereal or soup from a smaller bowl. That’s it. Try it for one or two meals. Notice anything? If your spouse is anything like mine, you might get asked, “Are you sure that’s enough, honey?” Bless his heart. As I’m ever gonna eat less than I need. As if I’m…

View original post 272 more words

Published by

Wysjoyfulcompany

WysJoyFul Company Ministering Speaker, Host Wy's Ways of Wellness Radio blogtalk with focus on Wellness Awareness and EOL/ QOL with grief situations and Cancer Care Communications for National Patient Advocacy, Tennessee Cancer Coalition and Memphis Breast Cancer Coalition. Retired RN after 50 years now a Caregiver for family member.